IyKleva – Hope’s Fresh Eggs

The price of eggs in South Africa dropped by 4% between November and December, new numbers show, making 18 eggs 7.5% cheaper than the year before.

A large egg contains 6 grams of protein, and 9 essential amino acids, and a host of other vitamins and minerals and nutrients, including lutein and zeaxanthin. All for just 70 calories! Eggs are natures amazing little prepackaged morsel of greatness. Nutritious and delicious!

Today we have someone who will tell us more about egg farming.

Featured- Thembuluwo Neluvhola (28), Dennilton , Elandsdoring.

Fefe: Danko boizin bucks ugrand ?

Thembu: Ngimmandi mfana Gogo 🤣

Fefe: Ayt Fede njayam , Can you tell us a bit about yourself ?

Thembu: My name is Thembuluwo , I am 28 years old. I was born in Venda , I am a second born in my family amd I was raised by both my parents. I completed my matric 2011 at Langlaagte Technical High.

In 2012, I went on to further my studies at Denver college in Pretoria. In 2015, I was accepted for an apprenticeship at Barloworld and then later became a qualified artisan with Earth Moving Equipment (Red Seal). I am a really hardworker and I’m a family orientated man too.

Fefe: Egg Farming , How did that come about ?

Thembu: I started my poultry farming business in 2017. I only had a single income with so many responsibilities, which made me to always wait for pay day to cover some things. I then started saving money to help star up my business.

Fefe: In order for your birds to lay more eggs, What does one need to consider, to make sure you get as much from the birds ?

Thembu: There is quiet a lot to consider but for now I will just stick to these three important things for effective laying.


1. Lighting conditions and shorter days.

Laying birds require 16 hours of light for them to effectively lay. 4 more hours of light should be added by using artificial light.The lighting stimulates their ovaries failure to which production goes down.

2. Predators


Laying birds have a variety of predators who steal and eat their eggs.The result of this is low production and stress from being frightened hence lowered egg production.Some common poultry predators include snakes,rats,foxes,mongoose,feral cats,dogs and humans too.

To stop predators the poultry house needs to be properly secured and no cracks or crevices or any entrance should be left as this are the entry points of some predators.Proper security needs to be in place like hiring watchmen and keeping fierce dogs in the compound.

3. Diseases and parasites


Diseases and parasites will often lead to reduced egg production.Some diseases such as newcastle disease,chronic respiratory disease,egg peritonitis,infectious bronchitis and egg drop syndrome usually affects the egg laying.This diseases normally cause drastic drop in production and even egg defects such as very small eggs,weak shells,shell less eggs,erosions on the eggs and eggs with odd colours.

This leads to rejection of eggs by buyers.

External parasites such as lice,mites,fleas and ticks and internal parasites such as roundworms and tapeworms utilise the cause discomfort to the birds the nutrients meant for the bird’s body and sucking on the blood.

Fefe: Please briefly take us through the day to day process ?

Thembu: I buy the layers at 18 weeks, price R80 to R150. I then put them in a cage and give them about 16 hours of light, feed then once a day. Just enough because if I feed them too much they will have too much fat and production will drop. Than sell the eggs.

Fefe: How many eggs can one chicken lay in a day?

Thembu: One or nothing.

Fefe: What do you feed your chickens ?

Thembu: Alzu feeds LM105 layer mash

Fefe: What is the biggest amount a chicken has laid for you?

Thembu: 95 eggs per 100 chicken a day

Fefe: How long does it take a chicken to lay an egg ?

Thembu: About 26 hours.

Fefe: Any challenges you face with your business ?

Thenbu: When they started pecking each other, egg production drops and when they die, it is hard to even identify the problem.

Fefe: When it comes to meat ? Chicken or Beef ?

Thembu: Chicken

Fefe: Kasi or Burbs?

Thembu: Kasi is the best

And if there is anyone who would like to place an order they can reach me on

0728534002 or 0658184296

And until then We beyond the Ghetto!!!

Published by kasiyouthmovement

Celebrating the youth Culture Emakasana

Leave a comment