Amantombazane – Ddlondlobala Chow

A happy Sunday to yall Moovers out there doing there most. Shout to all the ladies making big moves Emakasana , it’s been a while we haven’t dropped the feature Amantombozane, Awuthi Sibone ba busy ngan !

Featured: Sphephelo Sibisi ( 29 ) Sodra Represent

Fefe: Sawubona Sisi unjani?

Sphephelo: Ngiyaphila Buti , wena uryt?

Fefe: Ngiyaphila, let us get straight into business, can you tell us a bit yourself and yourchildhood.

Sphephelo: I grew up eMofolo living with my grandmother, then shortly moved to Rockville.

I was a very playful child and I enjoyed having other kids around me. I attended Little Dynamite nursery, proceeded to St Peter Clever Primary School for my junior learning and attended Queens High School for my senior learning.

I tapped in this culinary interets in my high school days. I took Consumer studies as one of the subjects in School.

Fefe: Ddlondlobala Chow, how did that whole business idea come about?

Sphephelo: Ddlondlobala Chow, Dlondlobala means growth in Zulu.

I have always had a wish that I would love to offer 5-star quality food in Soweto, which is something that is becoming more popular Ekasi.

And when I looked around my Kasi( Rockville ) there is so much potential for growth , especially with our youth, to also create opportunities and I would love to see Dlondlobala chow expanding as the name itself.

Fefe: Starting has never been an easy thing to do, Do you think you had enough support with those close to you ?

Sphephelo: Definetly it’s never an easy thing to do but thanks to my family and friends they have been supportive throught out. Somedays are hectic because I now have a child, who is only just four months, whom I would need to give attention as much as the business.

Fefe: Did you perhaps go to a culinary school ?

Sphephelo: Yes after exploring in high school, I then thought this is the industry I would love to learn more about, and the more I studied I realized that this is more than just learning. I enjoyed my 3 years at Durban University of Technology plus a year to aquire a Bachelor’s degree.

Fefe: In terms of handling the business side of things, how do you go about that ?

Sphephelo: I am still finding my feet, I have now decided to go back to my book and refresh my memory because wow.

I am now at my drawing board trying to come up with more ways to attract our customers as much as our food does.

Fefe: What are some of your favourite dishes or dishes you would normally prepare?

Sphephelo: Whooooo how do I even pick one , I’d have to say my favorite would be lamb. Meat bra…. inyama . However the most selling is our tasty chicken wrap and chips also wings and chips.

Fefe: How is the vibe with the restaurant?

Sphephelo: I personally think the vibe hasn’t been classified but we are cool and calm if you want to spend time with friends, good food and fresh air then Dlondlobala chow is true place to be.

Fefe: Is there any motto that you live by?

Sphephelo: Wake up, pray, show up and don’t give up.

Fefe: Mogodu or Beef Stew?

Sphephelo: It’s both for me but Mogodu man una that thing.

Fefe: Kasi or Burbs ?

Sphephelo: Kasi for me. The burbs must know they want to be associated with us.

on social media Dlondlobala Chow —–contact us on +27788792112 or +27825079934 to find us.

3341 zwane street
Rockville
Moroka 1818

Until then we beyond the Ghettho !

Published by kasiyouthmovement

Celebrating the youth Culture Emakasana

Leave a comment